SIAS Faculty Meeting February 7, 2025, 12:30–2:30 pm WPH

Agenda

- Ground Rules, Land Acknowledgment, Safety Briefing, Agenda; Consent Agenda: Proposed Minutes of the January 10, 2025 Faculty Meeting; and People, Process & Technology Reminders (5 min)
- 2. Promotion and Reappointment Discussion Guidelines Subcommittee Report (30 min)
- 3. Major Policy Revisions Task Force Presentation and Opportunity for Feedback (25 min)
- 4. Bylaws Revisions Task Force Presentation and Opportunity for Feedback (25 min)
- 5. SIAS vs. Department Control / Workflow Presentation and Q & A (15 min)
- 6. Departmentalization Q & A
- 7. Updates from Campus Governance Bodies (5 min)
- 8. Adjourn

Votes/Action

- 1. There were no objections to the minutes of the January 10, 2025 meeting; the minutes were accepted by unanimous consent.
- 2. Jim Gawal motions that we adopt the guidelines for reappointment, promotion, and tenure discussions and voting proposed by the Faculty Council subcommittee; Riki Thompson seconds; **[Yes: 68; No: 4; Abstain: 1]**
- 3. The meeting was adjourned at 2:29 pm.

Faculty Attendance (90):

Ahn, Ji-Hvun Alcaide Ramirez, Lolv An, Yajun Arthur, David Baird, Katie Bandes Becerra Weingarden, Maria-Tania Barnes, Gordon Beasley, Chris Becker, Bonnie Budge, Tyler Burghart, William Cabrera Silva, Angel Casas, Rubén Chaffee, Leighann Chamberlain, Ed Chavez, Sarah Chivese, Tawanda Clarke Dillman, Joanne Cline, EC Coon, David De La Cruz. Sonia de Veritch Woodside, Vanessa Demaske, Chris Dinglasan-Panlilio, Joyce Eaton, Julia Erickson, Ander Eschenbaum, Natalie

Espina, Tabitha Forman, Michael Gardell, Alison Gawel. Jim Greengrove, Cheryl Griesse, Margaret Hanneman, Mary Harvey, Matthew Heery, Eliza Heinz, Morgan Heller, Jutta Henderson, Meg Hershberg, Rachel Horak, Peter Ignacio, Emily Jolly, Natalie Kennedy, Maureen Khalil, Sana Kim. Kellv Koontz, Tom Kula, Michael Kunz, Bill Laux-Bachand, LeAnne Lee, Hyoung Suk Lee, Jeong-Ah Li, Jonah Lovász, Anna Ma, Eva

Machine, Augustus Martens, Jacob Masura, Julie McDonald, Erik Meiches, Ben Miller, Alex Miura, Cassie Modarres, Andrea Moore, Ellen Myers, Jennifer Nahmani, Marc Nascimento, Amos Nutter, Alexandra O'Donnell, Maeve Oswal, Sushil Rayermann, Scott Reusch, Johann Rose, Emma Ross, Steve Sankaran, Saumya Selkin, Peter Sesko, Amanda Sharkey, Joe Shatunova, Olga Skipper, Haley Than, Rita Thompson, Riki Thuma, Emily Ugur, Etga Vanderpool, Ruth Velasquez, Tanya Wang, Gene West, Carolyn Williams, Charles Xiao, Jenny (Yi)

UWT Staff (6):

Asplund, Jessica Hoover, BethAnn Jones, Kathleen Kissoondyal, Jon Tolentino, Karl Woodman, Toni

Other (1):

1-253-345-1246